Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha

Advertisement

How to delete a Twitter account

Written by  Jul 03, 2018

Like all social media, Twitter can be divisive. But even if you haven't simply become disillusioned, we'll explain how you can deactivate your Twitter account.

Can I temporarily deactivate Twitter?

Yes, it's the same process as for permanently deleting the account. But if you want to reactivate it, you'll need to do so within 30 days.

To deactivate your Twitter account you must first log into the site. You can do this on your phone or computer. Click on your profile photo, which is shown in the top bar, and choose Settings and privacy.

At the bottom of the Account settings is a link to deactivate your account. Click on this.

How to delete Twitter account

On a phone, tap Account then scroll to the bottom to find the same option.

It's important to note that for the first 30 days your account will merely be deactivated, and you can reactivate Twitter simply by logging back in. After the 30 days are up, your account and data will be permanently deleted.

If you intend to create a new account using the same name, be sure to change it on your old account first - that name won't be available to use by new accounts during the 30-day deactivation period.

Twitter says that although your account will be removed within minutes, some content may be viewable on the site for a few days following deactivation. Plus, it has no control over content indexed by search engines like Google.

If you're sure you want to deactivate your account, click the Deactivate button.

Can I download Twitter data?

Yes. Before you deactivate your Twitter account and risk permanently losing your data if you don't log back in within 30 days, it may be worth downloading a copy of your data.

As before, log into Twitter, then click your profile picture in the top bar and choose Settings.

On the Account settings page (in a web browser) is a link to request your Twitter archive. Click the 'Request your archive' button and you will be emailed a link from which you can download your data.

If you're using the Twitter app on your phone, then you'll have to tap the 'Deactivate your account' menu item, then tap on the 'your Twitter data' in the text in the What else you should know section. You'll be asked to enter your password, then the link will be emailed to you.

How to delete Twitter account

Also see: Top computerr security tips

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Advertisement 

Advertisement 
Weekly offers at GamersGate

  1. Popular
  2. Trending
  3. Comments

Advertisement